What are the different parts of Guatemala City called?

What are the different parts of Guatemala?

Regions in Guatemala

  • Guatemala City, Antigua and around.
  • The western highlands.
  • The Pacific coast.
  • The Oriente and Izabal.
  • Cobán and the Verapaces.
  • Petén.

How is Guatemala divided into regions?

Guatemala is divided into 22 departments (Spanish: departamentos) which are in turn divided into 340 municipalities. … Guatemala formally recognized Belize in 1991, but the border disputes between the two nations have not been resolved.

How many zones are there in Guatemala City?

Guatemala City is divided into 21 zones or “zonas.” The zonas are numbered sequentially in a spiral pattern beginning with Zona 1, the most central and oldest zone in the city.

What are the 8 regions of Guatemala?

Regions of Guatemala

  • 1.1 Region I or Metropolitan.
  • 1.2 Region II or North.
  • 1.3 Region III or Northeast.
  • 1.4 Region IV or Southeast.
  • 1.5 Region V or Central.
  • 1.6 Region VI or Southwest.
  • 1.7 Region VII or Northwest.
  • 1.8 Region VIII or Petén.
THIS IS FUN:  Quick Answer: Is Nicaragua a bad country?

What are the 3 regions of Guatemala?

Two mountain chains enter Guatemala from west to east, dividing the country into three major regions: the highlands, where the mountains are located; the Pacific coast, south of the mountains; and the limestone plateau of the Petén region, north of the mountains.

What is the relative location of Guatemala?

Guatemala is located in Central America. Guatemala is bordered by the Gulf of Honduras (Caribbean Sea) and the Pacific Ocean, Mexico to the north and west, and Belize, Honduras, and El Salvador to the east.

What is the biggest department in Guatemala?

Huehuetenango is one of the largest departments of Guatemala, and it has the largest number of municipios in the country, 32.

What do you call the nationality of a person from Guatemala?

Guatemalans (Spanish: guatemaltecos or guatemalenses) are people connected to the country of Guatemala. This connection may be residential, legal, historical or cultural. … Guatemalans are also colloquially nicknamed Chapines in other Spanish-speaking countries of Latin America.

What is the functional region of Guatemala?

Formal Regions- Central America. Guatemala is located between North and South America, making it a part of Central America. Functional Regions- Mountainous Core of Central America.

What is the capital of Guatemala called?

Keep yourself in Zones 4, 9, 10, 11, 12, 14, 15, and 16. You’ll be okay there. But still, watch out for pickpockets as you would anywhere. Zones 9 and 10 are the best and you’ll feel more at “home” (wherever home is) in those areas.

Where do rich people in Guatemala live?

Avenida La Reforma, just south of the city centre, separates the two zones, with Zone 9 to the west and Zone 10 to the east. These tree-lined avenues are home to Guatemala’s wealthiest residents, as well as the city’s most expensive hotels.

THIS IS FUN:  How old do people live in Costa Rica?

What is the geography of Guatemala City?

Guatemala is a country of volcanoes, mountains, and beaches on the Pacific Ocean and the Caribbean Sea. From the Cuchamatán Mountains in the western highlands, to the coastlines on the Caribbean Sea and the Pacific Ocean, this small country is marked by contrasts.

What are the mountains in Guatemala called?

The Sierra Madre de Chiapas is a crystalline range of block mountains extending to the southeast along the Pacific coast from the Isthmus of Tehuantepec into western Guatemala (where it is called the Sierra Madre).

What are the bordering countries of Guatemala?

Guatemala is bounded to the north and west by Mexico, to the northeast by Belize and (along a short coastline) by the Gulf of Honduras, to the east by Honduras, to the southeast by El Salvador, and to the south by the Pacific Ocean.