What are the 18 departments in Honduras?

What are the 18 departments of Honduras?

Honduras is administratively divided into eighteen departments (Atlántida, Choluteca, Colón, Comayagua, Copán, Cortés, El Paraíso, Francisco Morazán, Gracias a Dios, Intibucá, Islas de la Bahía (Bay Islands), La Paz, Lempira, Ocotepeque, Olancho, Santa Bárbara, Valle, and Yoro), each with a designated department …

What does Department mean in Honduras?

Honduras is divided into 18 departments (Spanish: departamentos). Each department is headed by a governor, who is appointed by the President of Honduras.

What is the biggest department in Honduras?

Olancho is a department in Honduras. It is the largest department in the country and is even bigger than El Salvador.

What is the department with the most municipalities in Honduras?

Honduras is administratively divided into 18 departments which are subdivided into 298 municipalities. Municipalities are the only administrative division in Honduras that possess local government.

List of municipalities.

Name El Paraíso
Department Copán
Population (2013) 19,882
Population (2001) 18,397
Change (%) +8.1%
THIS IS FUN:  What is the name of the #1 shopping destination in Guatemala?

What are the 3 major cities in Honduras?

Which Are The Biggest Cities In Honduras?

Rank City/Town Population
1 Tegucigalpa 1,126,534
2 San Pedro Sula 638,259
3 Choloma 222,828
4 La Ceiba 174,006

What is Honduras divided into provinces?

For purposes of local administration, Honduras is divided into 18 departamentos. Governors are appointed by the president, one for each department, to carry out central government decisions. The departments are divided into municipios (municipalities), which are further partitioned into aldeas (villages, or hamlets).

How many cities are in Honduras?

Honduras has 0 cities with more than a million people, 5 cities with between 100,000 and 1 million people, and 28 cities with between 10,000 and 100,000 people.

What language do they speak in Honduras?

Spanish is the official language of Honduras. A substantial number of Honduran professionals and business executives speak English and many high government officials and private sector leaders were educated in the United States. English is often spoken in the Bay Islands.

What are cities called in Honduras?

List of cities in Honduras

Rank City/Town Department
1 Tegucigalpa Francisco Morazán
2 San Pedro Sula Cortés
3 Choloma Cortés
4 La Ceiba Atlántida

What is the main city in Honduras?

Honduras has a population of 8.6 million people (in 2014 est.). Capital and largest city is Tegucigalpa, second largest city is San Pedro Sula.

Is Tegucigalpa A city or state?

Tegucigalpa, city and capital of the Republic of Honduras. It is located on hilly terrain hemmed in by mountains, at an elevation of 3,200 feet (975 metres) above sea level. Encyclopædia Britannica, Inc.

What color is the Honduras flag?

horizontally striped blue-white-blue national flag with five central blue stars. The width-to-length ratio of the flag is 1 to 2. On July 1, 1823, Central America proclaimed its independence after two years under Mexican rule and formed the United Provinces of Central America.

THIS IS FUN:  What is the average income per person in Guatemala?

What’s the capital of Honduras?

Искать: What’s the capital of Honduras?