Quick Answer: What percent of people in Honduras speak Spanish?

Some 52% of Hondurans report speaking English less than very well, compared with 32% of all Hispanics. In addition, 88% of Hondurans ages 5 and older speak Spanish at home. Age. Hondurans are younger than the U.S. population.

What percentage of Honduras speak Spanish?

It is a multiethnic, multicultural and multilingual country. The only official language is Spanish, but English Garifuna and various indigenous languages are also spoken. only 3% of the population has a maternal language that is not Spanish, and of these, 90% speak Spanish as their second language.

How many Spanish speaking people are in Honduras?


Languages Spanish, Amerindian dialects
Linguistic diversity index 0.056 171st out of 200
Major language(s) Spanish, indigenous languages, English
Spanish speakers 5.6 million 1st out of 2

What are 2 languages spoken in Honduras?

In Honduras, the language used by most of the people is Spanish. There are, however, other smaller dialects spoken in the country such as Creole English and a few languages of Amerindian origin. The Spanish spoken in Honduras has a lot of features that are similar to the Spanish used in Nicaragua and El Salvador.

THIS IS FUN:  How much does rent cost in El Salvador?

What percentage of Honduras speaks English?

Honduras, in Central America, hosts around 7.10 million people, of which 31,500 are English speakers (0.44%). Spanish is the official language, though English, Garifuna, Miskito and several other indigenous languages are recognized regionally.

Does everyone in Honduras speak Spanish?

By far the most widely spoken language in the country, spoken natively by the vast majority of citizens regardless of ethnicity. Honduran Spanish is considered a variety of Central American Spanish.

How is Honduran Spanish different?

Honduran Spanish is similar to that of other Central American countries, though it varies considerably from that of Spain or South America. You do not hear the “tú” pronoun frequently here; the term “vos” is used instead. … While it is widely spoken, Spanish is a second language for many in the country.

What is my race if I’m Honduran?

Hondurans are people of mixed race that descend from the Spanish people, mainly from Andalusians, Galicians, Valencians, Catalans, Canaries, Extremadurans and in a minority with other peoples of present-day Spain and various tribes and ethnic groups of indigenous peoples that belonged to Mesoamerica such as the Mayas …

What is my race if I am Honduran?

About 90% of Hondurans identify as mestizo, which is a person of mixed European (de facto Spanish) and Amerindian ancestry. Honduras, like many Latin American nations, embraces this as sort of the national standard, defining the identity of a nation with mixed European and Amerindian heritage.

Why do they speak Spanish in Honduras?

Spanish: The Official Language Of Honduras

THIS IS FUN:  Who trades with Nicaragua?

The Spanish language spoken by the Hondurans was passed to them by the colonialists many years ago. The language is used for government and business official transactions.

Is Honduras French?

Honduran society is predominantly Mestizo; however, American Indian, black and white individuals also live in Honduras (2017).


Republic of Honduras República de Honduras (Spanish)
Demonym(s) Honduran Catracho(a)
Government Unitary presidential republic
• President Juan Orlando Hernández

Is Philippines a Spanish speaking country?

The Philippines were under Spanish rule from 1565-1898, but even after the end of the Spanish-American War, it remained a co-official language with English until 1987, when it was designated as an optional language. Today, approximately 3 million Filipinos speak Spanish or Chavacano — a Spanish-based Creole language.

Is Colombia a Spanish speaking country?

Colombia is the most populous nation of Spanish-speaking South America.

What are some countries that speak Spanish?

Spanish is the (or an) official language of 18 American countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay, and Venezuela) as well as of the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, along with Spain in …