How many states are there in El Salvador?

What are the 14 states of El Salvador?

Administrative divisions

El Salvador has 14 departments: Ahuachapan, Cabanas, Chalatenango, Cuscatlan, La Libertad, La Paz, La Union, Morazan, San Miguel, San Salvador, San Vicente, Santa Ana, Sonsonate and Usulutan.

What is the biggest state in El Salvador?

It is bordered on the northeast by Honduras, on the northwest by Guatemala, and on the south by the Pacific Ocean. El Salvador’s capital and largest city is San Salvador. The country’s population in 2021 is estimated to be 6.8 million.

El Salvador.

Republic of El Salvador República de El Salvador (Spanish)
Internet TLD .sv

How many cities are in El Salvador?

Local cities and towns in El Salvador

We currently have data on 105 cities in El Salvador. Here is a list of some of the smaller towns.

Which state is San Salvador?

‘Holy Saviour’) is the capital and the largest city of El Salvador and its eponymous department. It is the country’s political, cultural, educational and financial center.

THIS IS FUN:  How many years of independence will Belize celebrate this year?
San Salvador
Country El Salvador
Department San Salvador
Metro San Salvador Metropolitan Area
Founded 1525

What are states in El Salvador called?

Departments of El Salvador. El Salvador is divided into 14 departments (Spanish: departamentos) for administrative purposes, subdivided into 262 municipalities (municipios). The country is a unitary state.

What country is close to El Salvador?

Land. El Salvador is bounded by Honduras to the north and east, by the Pacific Ocean to the south, and by Guatemala to the northwest.

What is the capital city of El Salvador?

Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, and Panama are all considered part of the developing world. The term developing world is one of many terms used to describe these countries.

What is El Salvador famous for?

Known as the Land of Volcanoes, El Salvador has frequent earthquakes and volcanic activity. It is the only country in Central America that does not have a coastline on the Caribbean Sea. Known as the “land of volcanoes,” El Salvador has frequent earthquakes and volcanic activity.

What are the 3 largest cities in El Salvador?

El Salvador – 10 Largest Cities

Name Population
1 San Salvador , San Salvador 525,990
2 Soyapango , San Salvador 329,708
3 Santa Ana , Santa Ana 176,661
4 San Miguel , San Miguel 161,880

Is El Salvador in the Philippines?

El Salvador, officially the City of El Salvador (Cebuano: Dakbayan sa El Salvador; Tagalog: Lungsod ng El Salvador), is a 6th class component city in the province of Misamis Oriental, Philippines. According to the 2020 census, it has a population of 58,771 people.

THIS IS FUN:  Where are avocados grown in Costa Rica?

What continent is El Salvador in?

After the breakup of the Federation from 1838-1840, the United States recognized Salvador (El Salvador) as a separate, independent state on May 1, 1849, when E. George Squier, U.S. Chargé d’affaires to Guatemala, was issued a full power and letter of credence to negotiate a treaty with Salvador.

What do you call someone from El Salvador?

Salvadorans (Spanish: Salvadoreños), also known as Salvadorians, Salvi or Salvadoreans, are citizens of El Salvador, a country in Central America.