How many constitutions Does Panama have?

The Constitution of Panama was promulgated on 11 October 1972 and came into force on the same date. It has been amended in 1978, 1983, 1993, 1994 and, last, in 2004. Its consolidated version was published in the Official Gazette No. 25176 of 15 November 2004.

Does Panama have a Constitution?

Panama is governed under the Constitution of Panama of 1972 as amended in 1978, 1983, 1993, 1994, and 2004. This is Panama’s fourth constitution, previous constitutions having been adopted in 1904, 1941, and 1946. … Panama’s successive constitutions have been respected to varying degrees by the republic’s governments.

Who wrote the Panama Constitution?

The 1972 Constitution was written by an assembly of representatives from municipalities (corregimientos) convened by the military government of Omar Torrijos. The latter was named “maximum leader” for six years, with broad powers to appoint and remove officials and to conduct foreign relations.

Is Panama a constitutional democracy?

Panama is a multiparty constitutional democracy with an estimated population of 3.4 million.

What is Panama’s current political system?

The politics of Panama take place in a framework of a presidential representative democratic republic with multi-party system, whereby the President of Panama is both head of state and head of government. Executive power is exercised by the president. Legislative power is vested in the National Assembly.

THIS IS FUN:  How is Bitcoin in El Salvador?

Is Panama a democracy today?


Panama is a representative democracy with three branches of government: executive and legislative branches elected by direct vote for 5-year terms, and an independently appointed judiciary.

Who runs Panama?


Republic of Panama República de Panamá (Spanish)
Demonym(s) Panamanian
Government Unitary presidential constitutional republic
• President Laurentino Cortizo
• Vice President Jose Gabriel Carrizo

How many ports are in Panama?

Panamá has five seaport areas: Panama City, Manzanillo, Balboa, Colón, and Cristóbal. These seaports handle the 16000 and the 17000 million dollars in exports and imports, respectively, which is the annual value of the foreign trade of Panama.

Does the US have jurisdiction in Panama?

The United States established diplomatic relations with Panama in 1903 following its declaration of independence from Colombia. … These treaties went into effect in 1979, and on December 31, 1999, Panama assumed full jurisdiction and operational control over the Canal.

What is the capital of Panama?

Panama City, Spanish Panamá or Ciudad de Panamá, capital of the Republic of Panama. It is located in the east-central part of the country near the Pacific Ocean terminus of the Panama Canal, on the Gulf of Panama.